Reviews

Alexander weaves a tasty tale of deceit, family ties, delicious pastries, and murder.

Edith Maxwell

Author of A Tine to Live, A Tine to Die

A Batter of Life and DeathI highly recommend this series to readers who enjoy clever plots, likable characters, and good food. Knowledge ofShakespeare’s plays is purely optional.

Mystery Scene Magazine

A Batter of Life and DeathOn the rebound from a broken marriage, baker Juliet Capshaw returns to her hometown of Ashland, OR, to mend her broken heart and work at her family’s bakery, Torte. When the newest board member of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival ends up dead in the shop, Juliet and her mother find themselves in deep trouble. The suspects are almost too numerous to count as the victim was disliked by almost everybody, including festival director Lance and longtime festival member Caroline, Torte employees Andy and Stephanie, and man-about-town Richard, who’s trying to drive Torte out of business. Fortunately for Juliet, her old high school sweetheart is investigating the case. Can the culprit be found and Torte saved? VERDICT This debut culinary mystery is a light soufflé of a book (with recipes) that makes a perfect mix for fans of Jenn McKinlay, Leslie Budewitz, or Jessica Beck.

The Library Journal

about A Batter of Life and Death, November 1, 2014

Sure to satisfy both dedicated foodies and ardent mystery lovers alike.

Jessie Crockett

Author of Drizzled with Death

Meet Your BakerFour star rating! This delicious debut mixes a quaint bakeshop in Oregon, an eclectic community of artists and a diabolical murder. Delicious pastries and food are a focus of this fast-paced mystery that presents a shocking murder and several possible suspects. From the troubled young homeless boy to a local artistic director, no one is above suspicion.

RT Book Reviews

about Meet Your Baker, November 01, 2014