fbpx

Here’s what people are saying about the books and series…

Not since Diane Mott Davidson’s novels have the details of mixing butter, chocolate, and sugar been so gloriously and mouthwateringly depicted. There is true joy in Jules’s love for baking, and it is in her bakery where she finds the calm presence of mind to put together the clues and solve the crime. Lance is at his most likable here, made vulnerable by his predatory, money-obsessed relatives. Wedding scenes are always fun to observe, and never more so than here when the entire town becomes an accomplice in the secretive event. Seeing Jules mature is a true pleasure, especially when she begins to feel at home in Ashland’s unique Shakespearean community. Along with a completely unexpected conclusion, the author delivers humor, outstanding dialogue, and an abundance of food porn.

Kingsriver Life Magazine

Marvelous.

Fresh Fiction

The Bakeshop Mystery series is even better now that you live in Ashland… I love all the intimate details you are able to weave in.

Writing Pearls

Alexander weaves a tasty tale of deceit, family ties, delicious pastries, and murder. Edith Maxwell

Author of A Tine to Live, A Tine to Die

A Batter of Life and DeathI highly recommend this series to readers who enjoy clever plots, likable characters, and good food. Knowledge ofShakespeare’s plays is purely optional. Mystery Scene Magazine

A Batter of Life and DeathOn the rebound from a broken marriage, baker Juliet Capshaw returns to her hometown of Ashland, OR, to mend her broken heart and work at her family’s bakery, Torte. When the newest board member of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival ends up dead in the shop, Juliet and her mother find themselves in deep trouble. The suspects are almost too numerous to count as the victim was disliked by almost everybody, including festival director Lance and longtime festival member Caroline, Torte employees Andy and Stephanie, and man-about-town Richard, who’s trying to drive Torte out of business. Fortunately for Juliet, her old high school sweetheart is investigating the case. Can the culprit be found and Torte saved? VERDICT This debut culinary mystery is a light soufflé of a book (with recipes) that makes a perfect mix for fans of Jenn McKinlay, Leslie Budewitz, or Jessica Beck. The Library Journal

about A Batter of Life and Death, November 1, 2014

Delicious.

RT Book Reviews

Alexander’s charming series (A Crime of Passion Fruit, 2017, etc.) offers descriptions of enticingly fattening foods, a tour of southern Oregon, and, incidentally, a mystery that provides enough riddles to keep you guessing without ever upstaging the main event.

Kirkus Reviews

I have to admit that Lance may be one of my favorite literary characters in a current series. I found him absolutely delightful.

Amy

Reader

Sure to satisfy both dedicated foodies and ardent mystery lovers alike. Jessie Crockett

Author of Drizzled with Death

Alexander (A Crime of Passion Fruit, 2017, etc.) kicks off a new series that takes the passion for wine-related cozies in a new direction with oodles of beer lore, plenty of pleasant characters, and a stronger mystery than usual.

Kirkus Reviews

Meet Your BakerFour star rating! This delicious debut mixes a quaint bakeshop in Oregon, an eclectic community of artists and a diabolical murder. Delicious pastries and food are a focus of this fast-paced mystery that presents a shocking murder and several possible suspects. From the troubled young homeless boy to a local artistic director, no one is above suspicion. RT Book Reviews

about Meet Your Baker, November 01, 2014

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Subscribe to the Newsletter

Sign up to learn about new book releases, events & appearances, and get info on extras like sneak peeks, special recipes, and giveaways!

 

Your information will never be shared with third parties and you can easily unsubscribe at any time.

You have Successfully Subscribed!